President Mohammadu Buhari Swears-in New Ministers;

43 new ministers were sworn in on Wednesday, the 21st of August 2019 inside the Federal Executive Council Chambers, Presidential Villa, Abuja by the Nigeria’s president, Muhammadu Buhari.

Among those present at the event was the Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Ahmed Lawan, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Boss Mustapha and the national chairman of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Adams Oshiomhole.
President Muhammadu Buhari in his second tenure increased the number of ministers to 43 from the initial 36 in his first tenure. It is expected that he either unbundles some of the ministries or appoints more junior ministers.

The moderator of the event, Femi Adesina, also said the re-appointted SGF will take his oath of service today.

President Buhari had on July 23 appointed a total of 43 ministers from the 36 states and Abuja.

Among the appointees are former Akwa Ibom State governor, Godswill Akpabio; senior lawyer Festus Keyamo; ex-Benue governor George Akume;
The oath taking is followed by the signing of register right in front of Mr Buhari and a handshake with the president.

swearng in of the new Ministers

Mr Buhari said the country’s economic recovery is still ‘robust’ as the government is working to improve infrastructure.

He urged the ministers to work in harmony and always work with their colleagues and subordinates.

Mr Buhari also urged the ministers to submit all that requires his attention to the SGF.

President Muhammadu Buhari also assigned portfolios to the 43 newly inaugurated minstries.

The president retained himself as petroleum minister while former Governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva is to serve as minister of state.

Also appointed is Godswill Akpabio as Niger Delta Minister, Adamu Adamu as Education minister, Isa Pantami; Communication and Rotimi Ameachi; Transportation.

The President also created new ministries such as ministry of police affairs and ministries for humanitarian services.

The ministers worn in today and their ministries are:

1. President Muhammadu Buhari – Minister of Petroleum

2. Mohammed Musa Bello – Adamawa State – Minister of Federal Capital Territory, FCT

3. Godswill Akpabio – Akwa Ibom State – Minister of Niger Delta.

4. Chris Ngige – Anambra State – Minister Labour and Employment

5. Sharon Ikeazor – Anambra State – Minister of Environment

6. Adamu Adamu — Bauchi State – Minister of Education

7. Ambassador Maryam Katagum – Bauchi State – Minister of State Industry

8. Timipre Sylva – Bayelsa State – Minister of State for Petroleum

9. George Akume – Benue State – Minister of Special Duties

10. Mustapha Baba Shehuri – Borno State – Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development

11. Goddy Jedy Agba – Cross River State – Minister of State, Power

12. Festus Keyamo – Delta State – Minister of State, for Niger Delta
13. Ogbonnaya Onu – Ebonyi State – Minister of Science and Technology .

14. Osagie Ehanire — Edo State – Minister of Health

15. Clement Ike – Edo State — Minister of State for Budget

16. Richard Adeniyi Adebayo – Ekiti State – Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment

17. Geoffrey Onyeama – Enugu State – Minister of Foreign Affairs

18. Ali Isa Pantami – Gombe State – Minister of Communication.

19. Emeka Nwajiuba – Imo State – Minister of State for Education

20. Suleiman Adamu – Jigawa State – Minister of Water Resources

21. Zainab Ahmed – Kaduna State – Minister of Finance

22. Muhammad Mahmood – Kaduna State – State Environment

23. Sabo Nanono – Kano State – Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development.

24. Bashir Salihi Magashi – Kano State – Minister of Defence

25. Hadi Sirika – Katsina State – Minister of Aviation

26. Abubakar Malami – Kebbi State – Minister of Justice/Attorney General of the Federation

27. Ramatu Tijjani – Kogi State – Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory (FCT)

28. Lai Mohammed – Kwara State – Minister of Information and Culture.

29. Gbemisola Saraki – Kwara State – Minister of State, Transportation

30. Babatunde Fashola – Lagos State – Minister of Works and Housing.

31. Adeleke Mamora – Lagos State – Minister of State for Health.
32. Mohammed H. Abdullahi – Nasarawa State – Minister of State, Science and Technology

33. Zubair Dada – Niger State – Minister of State, Foreign Affairs

34. Olamilekan Adegbite – Ogun State – Minister of Mines and Steel Development

35. Tayo Alasoadura – Ondo State – Minister of State, Labour and Employment

36. Rauf Aregbesola – Osun State – Minister Interior

37. Sunday Dare – Oyo State – Minister of Youth and Sports.

38. Paulen Tallen – Plateau State – Minister of Women Affairs

39. Rotimi Amaechi – Rivers State – Minister of Transportation

40. Maigari Dingyadi – Sokoto State – Minister of Police Affairs

41. Sale Mamman – Taraba State – Minister of Power

42. Abubakar D. Aliyu – Yobe State – Minister of State, Works and Housing

43. Sadiya Umar Faruk – Zamfara State – Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management

44. Dr. Ikechukwu Ogah – Abia State – Minister of State Mines and Stee

President Muhammadu also today, the 21st August 2019 Buhari announced the creation of five new ministries.

The new ministries are Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development; Police Affairs, Special Duties and International Affairs; Aviation; and Power.

The aviation ministry was initially part of the transportation ministry and was headed by Hadi Sirika, who was then the minister of state for aviation.

The power ministry was initially part of the ministry of power, works and housing.

The president announced this while assigning portfolios to the newly sworn-in ministers at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

“I am pleased to inform you that the federal ministries have been further expanded to ensure effective service delivery,” the president said.

The new Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development is headed by Sadiya Umar (Zamfara) while the Ministry of Special Duties and International Affairs is headed by George Akume from Benue.

Muhammadu Dingyadi from Sokoto State is the Minister of the new Ministry of Police Affairs. Hadi Sirika is now full-fledged Minister of Aviation while Sale Mamman is the Minister of Power.

julietsc Administrator
Juliet Nnadozie is a peace advocate, a character moulder, and a home builder. She is also a script writer, a movie director, producer, editor and an actress. She is the CEO Passions Global Media; an outfit that is into talent hunt and childrens drama productions.
julietsc Administrator
Juliet Nnadozie is a peace advocate, a character moulder, and a home builder. She is also a script writer, a movie director, producer, editor and an actress. She is the CEO Passions Global Media; an outfit that is into talent hunt and childrens drama productions.

Comment here